Glossary

AAA

The Triple-A-System is mainly applied by network operators and in the internet. It serves as intelligent access control to web-based networks. The triple A stands for “Authentification” , “Authorisation” and “Accounting”.

ABC-Analysis

The ABC-analysis categorises the products used in a project in three groups – A, B and C. A-rated products are vital for the execution of a project, B-rated products are of medium significance and C-rated products have but a small weight. This analysis can be a...

Accelerator

The word “accelerator” is mainly used by startups. After running through a successful application process, the founders receive intensive trainings confined to few months in order to endow the young company with both the know-how and the resources that are...

Access

In computing, access relates to the use of information and data. With access authorisations, it is determined which persons are authorised to use the stored data, information or applications.

Access Control List (ACL)

Access Control Lists (ACL) are documents for the control of access rights. They define which user (group) is permitted to access certain files or to withdraw such rights.

Active Directory

The Active Directory (AD) is a centralised directory service by Microsoft. It stores and manages all user data such as email-address and name. Next to the computers belonging to the network, AD manages other network devices such as printers, too.

ActiveX

ActiveX is only available for Windows and is used for the management of individual components. Via Active X, third-party objects may be embedded. As ActiveX is of questionable security, a use should be considered carefully.

Add-On

The add-on widens the range of functions of existing hardware and software respectively adds new functions. Add-ons are divided into three groups: the extented function of a browser, changes of the displayed browser layout or the reproduction of other content through...

Additional Security Analysis

According to the standards laid down in the IT-base-security, an additional security analysis is necessary if certain target objects of the respective information network have an increased protection need, but which cannot be modelled in a suitable way or applied in...

Administrator

In Windows, an administrator takes care of the management and maintenance of the computer. Prior to exercising the administration rights, he had to be registered in the system.

Glossar

AAA

Das Triple-A-System wird hauptsächlich bei Netzwerkbetreibern und im Internet eingesetzt. Primär dient es der intelligenten Zugangskontrolle zu webbasierten Netzwerken. Die drei As stehen für „Authentifizierung“ (Feststellung der Identität),...

ABC-Analyse

Die ABC-Analyse unterteilt die im Projekt verwendeten Produkte in drei Gruppen – A, B und C. Die Produkte, die A-klassifiziert wurden, haben für die Durchführung einen hohen Stellenwert, diejenigen mit B-Klassifizierung einen mittleren und die C-Produkte...

Accelerator

Das englische Wort „Accelerator“ bedeutet soviel wie „Beschleuniger“ und wird hauptsächlich in der StartUp-Szene eingesetzt. Nach einer erfolgreichen Bewerbung erhalten die Gründer intensive, auf wenige Monate beschränkte Schulungen, die sowohl...

access control list (ACL)

Access Control Lists (ACL) sind Listen zur Steuerung von Zugriffsrechten. Durch die Nutzung von ACLs wird es möglich, Nutzern oder Nutzergruppen Zugriffsrechte auf einzelne Dateien zu geben oder ihnen diese Rechte wieder zu entziehen.

Active Directory

Das Active Directory (AD) ist ein zentrales Verzeichnis von Microsoft. In ihm werden alle Daten der Nutzer, wie der Name und die Email-Adresse, gespeichert und verwaltet. Einen zusätzlichen Vorteil bietet AD dadurch, dass neben den Computern des Netzwerkes auch alle...

ActiveX

ActiveX ist nur unter Windows verfügbar und wird zur Verwaltung der einzelnen Komponenten eingesetzt. Über ActiveX können Objekte von Fremdprogrammen eingebettet werden. Da ActiveX sicherheitstechnisch fragwürdig ist, sollte ein Einsatz wohl überlegt sein.

AddOn

Das Add-On erweitert die Funktionsbreite bestehender Hard- und Software bzw. fügt neue Funktionen hinzu. Add-Ons werden in drei Gruppen unterteilt: Erweiterte Funktion des Browsers, Veränderung des angezeigten Browserlayouts oder die Wiedergabe anderer Inhalte über...

Administrator

Unter Windows ist ein Administrator für die Verwaltung und Pflege des Computers zuständig. Voraussetzung ist es für die Ausübung der Administrationsrechte, dass er vorher im System als Administrator registriert wurde.

admission control

Unter Admission Control (Zutrittskontrolle) untersucht das System, ob es ausreichend Speicherplatz zur Verfügung hat, um ein reibungsloses Arbeiten zu ermöglichen.

ADSL

ADSL ist die Abkürzung für „Asymmetric Digital Subscriber Line“, der in Deutschland am häufigsten genutzten Breitbandanschluss für das Internet. Durch die asymmetrische Verteilung der Bandbreite erfolgen Downloads schnell, während das Hochladen von Daten...