Glossary

Backbone

The back bone is a line for the transfer of larger amounts of data. It gathers the data of the systems it is connected to. Locally, it connects Local Area Networks (LAN) so that a Wide Area Network (WAN) can be created. Within the LAN, the back bone is used to...

Backdoor

A backdoor comprises malware that leave the door open for the unauthorised access to an IT-system. This enables an undetected intrusion into the system. The malware contains extensive access rights to cover up their tracks.

Backend

The backend constitutes the administration panel of a website and belongs to the Content Management System (CMS). Via the backend, authorised staff can enter and change content as well as develop or change the website. Generally, several staff members work hand in...

Backend Process Logic

In the frame of the logic of the backend process, the administrator panel is diverted into the cloud. The execution of backend processes functions easily, a server does neither need to be provided nor managed.

Backlink

A backlink is a web link that refers from another website back to the own one. Backlinks are important for the optimisation of the web page according to SEO (Search Engine Optimisation)-criteria. The more reputable these backlinks are, the better is the ranking of the...

Backup

The term backup has several meanings. In computing, a backup describes the process of securing data on a computer, in telecommunications, it is the automatic provision of alternative transfer option to be steeled against line failure.

Backup

In order to avoid data loss, a backup creates security copies of existing data. Backups encompass als technical and organisational measures securing the availability, integrity and consistency of the systems. All data, programmes and processes used for processing...

Backup and Recovery

“Backup and Recovery” describes a process to create data copies (backups) which aim at recovering data (recovery). The process is applied if the original data were either deleted or corrupted.

Backup as a Service

The BaaS-model (“Backup as a service”-model) denotes a double data security. All data are stored in their local environment, the data will also be stored on the servers of external IT service providers.

Backup Battery Unit (BBU) / Backup Battery Module (BBM)

The Backup Battery Unit (BBU) and the Backup Battery Module (BBM) define the battery of a RAID-controler that protects the writing cache from power cuts. The BBU is more and more replaced by a flash module with compensator. In case of a power failure, the content of...

Glossar

B2B

Der Ausdruck B2B steht für Business to Business (Unternehmen zu Unternehmen). Er umschreibt die Handelsbeziehungen zwischen mindestens zwei Unternehmen. Aufgrund der vielen Großhandelsportale im Internet, in denen Einzelhändler wie in einem Onlineshop einkaufen...

B2C

Der Ausdruck B2C steht für Business to Consumer (Unternehmen zu Endkunden). Er umschreibt eine Geschäftsbeziehung zwischen einem Unternehmen (Verkäufer) und einem Endkunden (Käufer).

BaaS

BaaS-Modell (Backup-as-a-service-Modell) bezeichnet eine zweifache Datensicherung. Alle Daten werden auf der gewohnten lokalen Umgebung abgespeichert, das Datenmaterial wird aber auch auf den Servern von externen IT-Dienstleistern abgelegt.

Back-End-Prozesslogik

Bei der Back-End-Prozesslogik wird das Administratorpanel in die Cloud verlagert. Die Ausführung der Back-End-Prozesse funktioniert einfach, ein Server braucht weder bereitgestellt noch verwaltet zu werden.

Backbone

Das Backbone (deutsch Rückrad) ist eine Leitung für die Übertragung größerer Datenmengen. Der Backbone sammelt die Daten der Systeme, mit denen er verbunden ist. Lokal verbindet er Local-Area-Networks (LAN), sodass ein Wide-Area-Network (WAN) entstehen kann. Innerhalb...

Backend

Das Backend ist das Administratorpanel der Webseite und gehört zum Content Management Systems (CMS). Über das Backend können authorisierte Mitarbeiter Inhalte einpflegen und ändern sowie die Webseite weiterentwickeln oder umbauen. Zumeist arbeiten hier mehrere...

Backlink

Ein Backlink ist ein Internetlink, der von einer anderen Webseite auf die eigene zurückführt. Backlinks sind ein wichtiger Faktor bei der Optimierung der Webseite nach SEO (Search Engine Optimisation)-Kriterien. Je mehr seriöse Backlinks eine Webseite integriert hat,...

Backup

Der Begriff Backup hat mehrere Bedeutungen. Bei Computern ist ein Backup die Sicherung von Daten, in der Telekommunikation geht es um die automatische Bereitstellung alternativer Übertragungsmöglichkeiten, um gegen Leitungsausfall gewappnet zu sein. Backup bietet die...

Backup und Recovery

„Backup & Recovery“ ist ein Prozess zur Erstellung von Datenkopien (Backups), der darauf abzielt, Daten wiederherzustellen (Recovery). Der Prozess wird eingesetzt, wenn die ursprünglichen Daten gelöscht oder beschädigt wurden.

Backup-Rechenzentrum

Ein „Backup-Rechenzentrum“, auch „Spiegelrechenzentrum“ genannt, dupliziert das Originalrechenzentrum an einem anderen Ort. Die Duplizierung gilt sowohl für Hard- und Software als auch die aktuellen Daten. Es dient zur Vorsorge im Fall von...