Glossary

Cable Trays

Cable trays are suspended but elevated constructions made from steel plates and plastic for the taking up of cables. They mostly are mounted to either ceiling or floor and must be easily accessible. Cable trays consist of a bar mounted to the roof. At this bars, the...

Cache

A cache is an extremely fast storage with comparatively small storage capacity. It buffers the central processing unit and the working memory. With its help, the access to frequently used programmes and data is significantly accelerated. Both the storage and the...

Caching

Caching is a service based on the In-Memory-Technology and sees to the availability of high-performing storage. This storage is generally used for the swaping out of databases.

Cage

In housing and colocation environments, cages are protected, fully managed areas used to accomodate the IT-equipment.

Carrier

Within computing and telecommunications, carriers are companies that offer services in either IT or telecommunications by selling or renting bandwiths. A Local-Exchange-Carrier (LEC) is settled locally whereas an Internet-Exchange-Carrier (IEC or IXC) offers remote...

Carrier Hotel

The term “Carrier Hotel” stands for telehousing, i.e. the provision of an independent facility management for telecommunications and IT-companies.

Carrier Meet Me Room

“Carrier Meet Me Rooms” are physical sites in which operators meets potential customers.

Carrier-neutral

Carrier-neutral names a Data Centre independent from network or carriers that offers the interconnection between several communication carriers and/or colocation providers. Network-neutral Data Centres can be found all over the world, they differentiate in size and...

Central Access Control

Via the central access control it is possible to ensure that solely authorised persons get access to person-related data, programmes and documents.

Central Admission Control

The central admission control is a central system that drives and controls the access to an area or a building. For authentication, ID-cards are used.

Glossar

Cache

Der Cache ist ein sehr schneller Speicher mit verhältnismäßig kleiner Speicherkapazität. Er dient als Puffer zwischen der „Central Processing Unit“ (CPU) und dem Arbeitsspeicher. Mit seiner Hilfe wird der Zugriff auf häufig genutzte Programmteile und Daten...

Caching

Caching ist ein Dienst, der auf der In-Memory-Technologie basiert und dafür sorgt, dass ein hochleistungsfähiger Speicher zur Verfügung steht. Dieser Speicher wird generell zur Auslagerung nicht-transaktionaler Vorgänge aus der Datenbank verwendet.

Cage

Der Cage (englisch für Käfig) umschreibt durch eine Gitterabtrennung gesicherte und vollständig betreute Flächen für die Unterbringung des IT-Ausrüstung von Kunden in Housing- und Colocation-Umgebungen.

Carrier

In der IT- und Telekommunikationsbranche sind Carrier Unternehmen, die IT- und Telekommunikationsdienstleistungen anbieten und Bandbreite verkaufen oder vermieten. Ein Local-Exchange-Carrier (LEC) ist lokal angesiedelt, ein Internet-Exchange-Carrier (IEC oder IXC)...

Carrier-Hotel

Der US-amerikanische Begriff „Carrier Hotel“ steht für das Telehousing, d.h. die Bereitstellung eines unabhängigen Facility Managements für Telekommunikations- und IT-Unternehmen.

Carrier-Meet-Me-Room

„Carrier Meet Me Rooms“ sind physische Standorte, in denen sich Leitungsbetreiber mit potentiellen Kunden treffen.

Carrierneutral

Carrierneutral bezeichnet ein netzwerk- oder carrierneutrales Datenzentrum, das die Zusammenschaltung zwischen mehreren Telekommunikationscarriern und/oder Colocation-Anbietern zulässt. Netzwerkneutrale Datenzentren gibt es in aller Welt, sie unterscheiden sich in...

CAS

Die „Content Addressed Storage“ (CAS) ist ein Speicherkonzept für die sichere und sparsame Onlinearchivierung von nicht-veränderlichen Daten wie Rechnungen, Verträgen oder medizinischen Diagnosen. Dabei wird für jede Datei ein Fingerabdruck erzeugt, nach...

CBRN

CBRN ist die Abkürzung für „chemisch, biologisch, radiologisch und nuklear“. Über CBRN werden Gefahren in nukleare (N: Gefahren durch Kernbrennstoffe und Auswirkungen nuklearer Kettenreaktionen) und radiologische (R: Gefahren durch alle anderen...

CBT, Change Block Tracking

Im „Storage Area Network“ (SAN) werden Daten auf Blöcken gespeichert, die kein Kennzeichen über ihren Änderungsstatus besitzen, wodurch nur eine Vollsicherung durchgeführt werden konnte. Das „Change Block Tracking“ (CBT) gibt virtuellen...