Glossary

n+1 Redundancy

A “n+1-redundancy” describes the equipment of Data Centres with “superfluous” equipment. The letter “n” stands for the units guaranteering the normal operation, “+1” is an additonal element which is redundant. Thus, the...

Natural Disaster

A natural disaster is an exceptional natural phenomenon creating damages and that cannot be mastered with the means of day-to-day hazard prevention.

Near Field Communications (NFC)

“Near Field Communications” (NFC) relates to direct communications in close physical proximity. This technical method can be used for credit cards and smartphones. Example: a retailer holds his mobile to the credit card of his customer, it reads out the...

NetApp Altavault

NetApp® AltaVault® cloud-integrated storage applications are designed by the US-american IT-provider NetApp. It enables customers to securely backup data to any cloud. Compared to inhouse solutions, a backup can be performed at up to 90% lower costs. AltaVault®...

NetApp Backup as a Service Initiative

With its certified solution for Backup as a Service (BaaS), the company breaks new ground. With NetApp SteelStore, a new, innovative technology had been integrated, the service network had been extended in Germany. Clients receive only one service with the help of...

NetApp Cloud ONTAP

NetApp ONTAP Cloud for Amazon Web Servcies and Windows Azure is a software-only storage service. It offers a superior data management for business continuity, cloud applications and DevOps. This hybrid approach means that your IT, Development and Operations teams can...

NetApp E-Series

For more than 30 years, the NetApp E-series successfully operates on the market of SAN-storage-segment. Up to today, millions of systems have been sold, 350,000 since eSeries became a part of the NetApp-portfolio in 2011. NetApp ensures a made-to-last architecture and...

NetApp FAS

NetApp FAS is the product name of a universal storage system based on the data management software ONTAP designed by the US-american storage producer NetApp.

NetApp Ontap

NetApp ONTAP is a data management system designed by NetApp. Currently, NetApp ONTAP 9 is the most instantaneous which permits the data management across flash, cloud and hard disk.

NetApp SnapMirror

The NetApp SnapMirror is an efficient solution for reusing data as well as an optimised backup designed by the US-american software provider NetApp. It ensures a uniform data replication.

Glossar

n+1 Redundanz

Eine „n+1 Redundanz“ beschreibt die Ausstattung des Rechenzentrums mit „überflüssigem“ Equipment. Das „n“ steht dabei als eine der Einheiten, die den normalen Betrieb gewährleisten, das „+1“ ist ein zusätzlich Element,...

NAS (NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE)

Die Abkürzung NAS (Network Attached Storage) steht für einen netzgebundenen Dateispeicher. NAS-Server gibt es in unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen, die einfachste Form ist eine Festplatte mit Netzwerkrouter. Bei einem leistungsfähigen NAS werden die Komponenten direkt...

Naturkatastrophe

Eine Naturkatastrophe ist ein außergewöhnliches Naturereignis, das Schäden verursacht und nicht mit den Mitteln der alltäglichen Gefahrenabwehr bewältigt werden kann.

NEA

Die Netzersatzanlage (NEA) besteht im Regelfall aus einem Diesel-Stromaggregat mit Notstromautomatik. Es vergehen durchschnittlich zehn bis 12 Sekunden, bis NEA startet, sodass zur Überbrückung eine USV-Batterieanlage ausgestattet, um die unterbrechungsfreie...

NetApp Altavault

Die „NetApp AltaVault“ des US-amerikanischen Unternehmens NetApp ist eine Speicherlösung, die in die Cloud integriert wurde. Sie sorgt dafür, dass die Kunden eine Datensicherung in jeder Cloud durchführen können. Im Vergleich zu Inhouse-Lösungen kann eine...

NetApp Backup as a Service Initiative

Mit seiner zertifizierten Lösung für „Backup as a Service“ (BaaS) betritt das Unternehmen Neuland. Mit NetApp SteelStore wurde eine neue, innovative Technologie integriert, das Servicenetz wurde auch in Deutschland erweitert. Kunden erhalten nun einen...

NetApp Cloud ONTAP

Die NetApp ONTAP Cloud für die Amazon Web Services (AWS) und Windows Azure bezeichnet einen softwarebasierten Speicherdienst. Sie bietet ein erstklassiges Datenmanagement für die Absicherung der Geschäftsprozesse, Cloud-Anwendungen und DevOps. Diese hybride...

NetApp E-Series

Seit über 30 Jahren agiert die NetApp E-series erfolgreich im SAN-Storage-Segment. Bis heute wurden über eine Millionen Systeme verkauft, 350.000 seit die E-Series 2011 Teil des NetApp-Portfolio wurden. NetApp stellt ihre langlebige Architektur und kontinuierliche...

NetApp FAS

NetApp FAS bezeichnet den Produktnamen eines universellen Speichersystems basieren auf Datenmanagement-Software ONTAP des US-amerikanischen Storageherstellers NetApp.

NetApp Ontap

NetApp ONTAP ist ein Datenmanagementsystem des Unternehmens NetApp. Momentan ist NetApp ONTAP 9 aktuell, das das Datenmanagement über Flash, Cloud und Festplatte hinweg ermöglicht.