Glossary

Object Storage

An object storage is a storage architecture in which data are managed as objects. File storages, however, use a hierachical structure. Object storages have an extremely high storage capacity thus becoming an excellent storage option for Big Data. Moreover, the data...

On-Demand Self Service

On-Demand Self Service is a cloud computing service model by which a customer can provision additional cloud resources on-demand, without involving the service provider. Resources are typically provisioned through an online control panel.

On-Premise

“On-Premise” describes local software programmes or infrastructures that is run on computers on the premises (in the building) of the person or organization using either of it. Example: Microsoft Office as it has to be installed on the physical computer...

Open Source

The source code refers to the text of a computer programme written in a programming language. Open Source Software are software whose source code is available to everyone. It might be freely modified, widened and deepened.

Open Source Software

Open Source Software (OSS) are freely available software programmes. They may be used by several persons at the same time and are not directly linked to a terminal device.

Open Systems SnapVault

Open Systems SnapVault is the backup of Windows or UNIX-servers linked to the DAS. It contains an online archive of the backup copies.

OpenStack

OpenStack is a software project providing a free architecture for cloud computing. It was triggered by Rackspace and NASA; meanwhile, it is supported by renowned industry players (SUSE Linux, Dell, Canonical, Citrix System, HP, AMD, Intel, Red Hat, IBM etc). OpenStack...

Operate a backup service in a cluster

When operating a backup service in a cluster, both the operating system and the backup applications are doubly present on physical servers. The data may be commonly used by all nodes. Thus, the availability of a service is significantly increased compared to the...

Glossar

OBJEKTSPEICHER

Ein Objektspeicher ist eine Speicherarchitektur, in der Daten in Form von Objekten verwaltet werden. Dateispeicher hingegen verwenden eine hierarchische Struktur. Objektspeicher haben eine extrem hohe Speicherkapazität, wodurch sie eine sehr gute Speicheroption für...

öffentliche IP-Adresse

Für die Versendung und den Empfang von Datenpaketen über das Internet ist eine eindeutige Nummer, die Internet Protocol (IP)-Adresse nötig. Server von Firmen und Unternehmen, die von außen erreicht werden, benötigen eine statische IP-Adresse, die sich nicht verändern...

On-Demand Self Service

„On-Demand Self Service“ ist ein Servicemodell des Cloud Computing, bei dem sich Kunden auf Abruf mit zusätzlicher Cloud Ressourcen ausstatten können, ohne den Serviceanbieter mit einzubeziehen. Die Ressourcen werden im Regelfall über ein onlinebasiertes...

On-Premise

„On-Premise“ beschreibt lokal installierte Softwareprogramme oder Infrastrukturen, die auf den physischen Servern der Person/des Unternehmens liegen. Beispiel: Microsoft Office, da es auf dem Computer installiert werden muss, auf dem es läuft.

Open Source

Der Quellcode (englisch source code) ist der Text eines Computerprogramms, der in einer Programmiersprache verfasst ist. Als Open Source Software wird eine Software verstanden, deren Quellcode jedem zugänglich ist. Dieser darf frei verändert und weiter verbreitet...

Open Source Software

Open Source Software (OSS) ist ein frei verfügbares Softwareprogramm. Es kann parallel von mehreren Nutzern gleichzeitig verwendet werden und ist nicht an ein Endgerät gebunden.

Open Systems SnapVault

Das Open Systems SnapVault ist das Backup von Windows- oder UNIX-Servern, die mit einem DAS verbunden sind. Dies enthält eine Onlinearchiv der Backup-Kopien.

OpenStack

OpenStack ist das Betriebssystem der Cloud. Ins Leben gerufen wurde es von der NASA und Rackspace. Als Gemeinschaftsprojekt wird die freie Software von Unternehmen wie AT&T, SUSE Linux GmbH, Canonical, Hewlett-Packard Enterprise, Intel, Red Hat und IBM...