Glossary

Rack Scale Flash Platforms

“Rack scale flash platforms” are high-performance platforms geared to the constantly increasing memory requirement and a maximum efficiency. Rack scale flash platforms see to an extremely high company agility and offer perfect insights. It combines the...

RAID Double Parity

RAID-DP stands for “RAID Double Parity”. It is an ONTAP software function introduced by the storage provider NetApp. It protects the stored data against a double hard disk failure without limiting the performance.

Raised Floor

The raised floor is a system design with an elevated base construction. It consists of industrially produced modules, mainly panels and columns. The panels are composed of highly-compacted MDF or anhydrid (incombastible), they are placed on the raised floor made of...

Raised Floor Management

The raised floor management is responsible for the coordination of the installation of hardware, e.g. the hot aisle/cold aisle arrangement, the regulation of the air volumes in the cold aisles as well as the control of the floor opening. It shall stabilise the...

Recirculating Air-cooling Unit

Recirculating air-cooling units chill the room air to the desired temperature. By ventilation intake of the warm room air which is later ducted through a heat exchanger and afterwards lead back into the room by the blow-out area.

Recommendation Engine

A recommendation engine is a software programme that finds out which products or services are of interest to the customer by analysing incoming online orders. Based on an algorithm, similar and/or supplementary products or services are offered soon.

Recooling Plants

Recooling plants are technical facilities for refrigeration. In their core, they work like heat exchangers for water, water glycol, hot gases or similar. Computer centres mainly employ dry coolers, water coolers or hyprid coolers (water/air).

Recovery Plan

Recovery plans are mainly authored by the availability management responsible for the availability of computer systems and the service continuity management. They include a specific package of measures used to restore particular systems and/or services after their...

Recovery Point Objectives (RPO)

The recovery point objective (RPO) refers to the restart time after the failure of an IT-infrastructure or a IT-system. If the backup data can be retrieved directly, the RPO is comparatively short. It will be prolonged, however, if several media are used as backup. As...

Recovery Sites

A recovery site (RS) is a Data Centre that contains virtual machines and applications that continue to operate if the protected site is unavailable. RS supports critical business needs.

Glossar

RACK-SCALE-FLASH

Rack-Scale-Flash-Plattformen sind hochleistungsfähige Plattformen, die für den immer höher werdenden Speicherbedarf und eine exzellente Performance ausgerichtet sind. Rack-Scale-Flash-Plattformen ermöglichen eine sehr hohe Unternehmensagilität und bieten optimale...

RAID

Das RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) bezeichnet eine Technik, mit der sich zwei oder mehr Festplatten auf eine bestimmte Art nutzen lassen. Es werden verschiedene RAID-Level verwendet, die etwas über den Einsatz des RAID aussagen. RAID 0 verdoppelt das...

RAID-DP

RAID-DP steht für „RAID Double Parity“ und ist ein ONTAP-Softwarefunktion, die vom Storageprovider NetApp eingeführt wurde. Sie schützt die gespeicherten Daten vor einem doppelten Festplattenausfall, ohne dass die Leistung eingeschränkt wird.

Rauchansaugsystem (RAS)

Das Rauchansaugesystem (RAS) ist ein Brandmelder, der für die Brandfrühesterkennung eingesetzt wird. Es wird zumeist in USV-Technikräumen, IT-Rechenzentren und -Infrastrukturräumen installiert. Durch eine kontinuierliche Entnahme von Luftproben erkennt das System...

Raumlufttechnik (RLT)

Die Raumlufttechnik (RLT) wird eingesetzt, um bestimmte Raumbereiche maschinell mit Luft zu versorgen. Darunter fallen Anlagen, die eine Belüftung mit Außenluft durchführen (Raumtechnische Anlagen mit Lüftungsfunktion) und Anlagen, die die bestehende Luft umwälzen...

Reaktionszeiten

Die Reaktionszeiten messen die Zeitspanne zwischen Aktion und Reaktion. Gerade in der Informationstechnologie stellen Reaktionszeiten eine wichtige Kennzahl dar, bei Flachbildschirmen ist eine niedrige Reaktionszeit sogar ein Qualitätsmerkmal.

Rechenzentrum

Ein Rechenzentrum umfasst alle Gebäude und Räumlichkeiten, in denen die zentrale Rechentechnik einer oder mehrerer Unternehmen untergebracht sind. Dort befinden sich neben den Geräten selbst auch die Organisation, die sich darum kümmert.

Rechenzentrums-Colocation

Die Rechenzentrums-Colocation, auch Serverhousing oder Serverhoming genannt, bezieht sich auf die Unterbringung und Netzanbindung eines Kundenservers über das Rechenzentrum eines ISP (Internet Service Providers). Im Gegensatz zum Hosting wird bei der Colocation...

Recommendation Engine

Ein „Recommendation Engine“ (Empfehlungsdienst) ist eine Software, die andhand eingehender Kundenbestellungen über einen Webshop ermitteln, welche Produkte oder Dienstleistungen für einen Kunden interessant sind. Anhand eines Algorithmus werden zeitnah...

Recovery Plan (Wiederherstellungs-Plan)

Wiederherstellungspläne werden zumeist vom Availability Management, die für die Verfügbarkeit von IT-Systemen verantwortlich sind, und dem IT Service Continuity Management erstellt. Sie enthalten ein konkretes Maßnahmenpaket, das genutzt wird, um bestimmte Systeme...