Glossary

Valves

Valves are used to control the inlet and outlet of gases and fluids. With them, a flow direction can be measured and controlled. For Data Centres, control valves in cooling systems are of concern as they can be used to set the flow and the direction of the flow.

Vaporisation

Vaporisation is a cooling method. The draining of the vapour via a liquid effects a cooling effect. The vapour pressure on the liquid’s surface is created by atoms or molecules with a higher kinetic energy.

VCloud Director

“VMware vCloud Director” might be used so that service providers allocate differenciated cloud services. It offers excellent support of hybride solutions for the enterprise class of companies. vCloud Director can be accessed via the vCloud Air...

Veeam-Technologies

Veeam Software is a Swiss software provider founded in 2006. The company offers software for data storage, data recovery and virtualisation management. Virtualisation management is their strongpoint – the “VE” in the company name shall point to...

Vendor Lock-in

With a vendor lock-in, the customer ties himself to a service provider in a cloud. The vendor lock-in makes a change of the cloud provider is extremely difficult and cost-intensive. The reason is that there are provider-independent protocols, APIs, data structures and...

Ventilation Plates

First and foremost, ventilation plates refer to those plates used in an access floor and possess a defined “free cross-section” through perforation or slotting. They ensure that the statical pressure in the access floor lets through a previously calculated...

Ventilation System

A ventilation system is a device that provides residential and business premises with outside air and sees to ventilating stale air. Depending on the application, there are systems with controlled air intake (air intake system), controlled exhaust (exhaust air system)...

Ventilation Technology

The ventilation technology is used to mechanically provide air to the specific room areas. This includes systems that execute an air ventilation with outdoor air (room-specific systems with ventilation function) and systems circulating existing air (room-specific...

Ventilator

The term ventilator is derived from the Latin word “ventulus” meaning light wind or gentle breeze. It is a continuous flow machine operated by an electric motor that – through a rotor – conveys and densifies a gaseous medium. Between intake and...

Venture Capital

The term “venture capital” (VC) describes an investment in a startup that includes a comparatively high risk of a (partial) loss of the capital.

Glossar

VCloud Director

„VMware vCloud Director“ kann dazu genutzt werden, dass Serviceanbieter differenzierte Cloud-Dienste bereitstellen können. Sie ist eine optimale Unterstützung von Hybridlösungen für die Enterprise-Klasse von Unternehmen. vCloud Director ist über das vCloud...

VDE

Der VDE ist der „Verband für Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik“ und ist technisch-wissenschaftlich ausgerichtet. Er wurde bereits im Jahr 1893 gegründet, mittlerweile ist der VDE als große Organisation am Markt etabliert. Die VDE Prüf- und...

VDI-SPEICHER (VIRTUAL DESKTOP INFRASTRUCTURE)

Das „Virtual Desktop Interface“ (VDI) ist eine Speichertechnologie, die verschiedene Bestandteile eines Desktops (Betriebssystem, Anwendungen und Daten) von den darunterliegenden Hardware (wie Laptops oder einen PC) löst. Um das VDI erfolgreich nutzen zu...

VdS

Das Kürzel „VdS“ steht für „Vertrauen durch Sicherheit“.

Veeam-Technologien

Veeam Software ist ein 2006 gegründetes schweizer Softwareunternehmen, das für virtuelle Umgebungen Software zur Datensicherung, -wiederherstellung und im Virtualisierungsmanagement anbietet. Schwerpunkt ist das Virtualisierungsmanagement, das „VE“ im...

Vendor Lock-in

Durch das „Vendor lock-in“ bindet sich ein Kunde fest an einen Serviceanbieter einer Cloud. Ein Vendor Lock-in ist dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass ein Wechsel zu einem anderen Cloudanbieter sehr schwierig und kostenintensiv ist. Der Grund liegt darin, dass es...

Ventil

Ventile werden dazu eingesetzt, den Ein- oder Auslass von Gasen und Flüssigkeiten zu kontrollieren. Mit ihnen kann auch die Fließrichtung geregelt bzw. gesteuert werden. Bei Rechenzentren sind Regelventile in Kältesystemen von Bedeutung, da sich über sie der...

Ventilator

Der Ausdruck „Ventilator“ leitet sich aus dem Lateinischen ab und steht für „schwacher Wind“ oder „Lüftchen“. Er ist eine zumeist von einem elektrischen Motor betriebene Strömungsmaschine, die durch die Verwendung eines rotierenden...

Venture Capital / VC

Der Ausdruck „Venture Capital“ (VC) setzt sich aus den englischen Begiffen „venture“ für Wagnis und „capital“ für Kapital zusammen. Venture-Capital-Unternehmen stellen StartUps Risikokapital in Form von Eigenkapital zur Verfügung...

Verbindlichkeit

Eine Verbindlichkeit enthält die Sicherzeitsziele Authensität und Nichtabstreitbarkeit. Auf die Informationsübertragung angewandt bedeutet dies, dass die Informationsquelle ihre Identität beweisen muss und der Empfang nicht in Abrede gestellt wird.